Skip to main content
Ten Gwinnett seniors among National College-Sponsored Merit Scholarship winners

GCPS recognizes Class of 2019 scholars

Ten Gwinnett seniors among National College-Sponsored Merit Scholarship winners

June 10, 2019

  The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) awarded 10 Gwinnett County Public Schools (GCPS) seniors 2019 National Merit Scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities. Gwinnett’s College-Sponsored Merit Scholarship winners are:

Collins Hill High:
Brett P. Muegel 

Probable career field: Engineering
National Merit Clemson University Scholarship

Lanier High:
Fiona C. Jones

Probable career field: Music
National Merit Emory University Scholarship

Mill Creek High:
Calvin Shaw 

Probable career field: Economics
National Merit Brigham Young University Scholarship

Norcross High:
Lennox E. Xu

Probable career field: Medical Research
National Merit Emory University Scholarship

North Gwinnett High:
Emma Rose Barfield

Probable career field: Environmental Science
National Merit University of Georgia Scholarship

Madeline V. Franz
Probable career field: Psychology
National Merit University of Georgia Scholarship

Elise W. Park 
Probable career field: Music
National Merit Vanderbilt University Scholarship

Abbey S. Tilson 
Probable career field: Education
National Merit University of Georgia Scholarship

Jackson B. Wegmet 
Probable career field: Civil Engineering
National Merit University of South Carolina Scholarship

Parkview HS:
Angela S. Lee

Probable career field: Business Administration
National Merit Emory University Scholarship

     The National Merit Scholars are part of a group of distinguished students nationwide judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. Officials of each sponsor college selected their winners from among finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program who will attend their institution. The scholarships provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.  

     This year, 173 higher education institutions are underwriting Merit Scholarship awards through the National Merit Scholarship Program. Sponsor colleges and universities include 95 private and 78 public institutions located in 43 states and the District of Columbia. 

     College-sponsored Merit Scholarship winners are a part of the distinguished group of about 7,600 high school seniors who will receive National Merit Scholarships for college undergraduate study worth more than $31 million.

     More than 1.6 million juniors in some 22,000 high schools entered the 2019 National Merit Scholarship competition when they took the 2017 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants.  Last fall, approximately 16,000 semifinalists were named on a state-representational basis in numbers proportional to each state’s percentage of the national total of graduating high school seniors. Semifinalists were the highest-scoring program entrants in each state and represented less than one percent of the nation’s seniors. 

     To compete for Merit Scholarship awards, semifinalists first had to advance to the Finalist level of the competition by fulfilling additional requirements. Each semifinalist was asked to submit a detailed scholarship application, which included writing an essay and providing information about extracurricular activities, awards, and leadership positions. Semifinalists also had to have an outstanding academic record, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, and earn SAT® scores that confirmed the qualifying test performance. From the semifinalist group, some 15,000 met requirements for finalist standing, and more than half of the finalists will be Merit Scholarship winners in 2019.

  Download a PDF of this article
GCPS Public (Main Tabs & Content) - Metrics Tracking Script
Complementary Content