Skip to main content
Web Content Viewer

New leaders, district leader appointed by BOE

BOE names five principals and district leader at Nov. meeting

November 16, 2018

     At its regular monthly meeting, the Gwinnett County Board of Education named five local school leaders to fill upcoming vacancies prompted by an appointment and four retirements. In addition, the Board approved the appointment of Dr. Clay Hunter as the district’s Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instructional Support.


Image of Dr. Clay Hunter      Dr. Clay Hunter will transition from his role as an Assistant Superintendent for Elementary Schools to become the district’s Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instructional Support. In his new role, Dr. Hunter will oversee the Curriculum and Instruction; Academies, Career, and Technical Education; Instructional Development and Support; and Innovation and Program Development departments. He joins the Division of Curriculum and Instructional Support which is led by Associate Superintendent Dr. Jonathan Patterson.



Image of Kaneshia L. Robinson      Kaneshia L. Robinson has been tapped to become the new principal of Berkmar Middle School as its current principal transitions to the principal role of the new Meadowcreek Cluster health science high school that is opening in August of 2019. Ms. Robinson currently serves as an assistant principal at Duluth Middle School.



Image of Paul Willis      Paul Willis, principal of Fort Daniel Elementary School, will assume the leadership position at Cooper Elementary School. He takes over the role held by Dr. Donna Bishop who is retiring in December.



Image of Dr. Steve Frandsen      Dr. Steven Frandsen, principal of Annistown Elementary, will be the new principal of the International Transition Center. Dr. Frandsen will move to this position upon the retirement of current principal Dr. Bob Burgess.



Image of Reginald "Kevin" Payne      Reginald “Kevin” Payne, an assistant principal at Baggett Elementary School, has been tapped to become the new principal of Lovin Elementary School. The school’s current principal, Dr. Janet Blanchette, is retiring in December.



Image of Adrienne Tedesco      Adrienne Tedesco, an assistant principal at Chesney Elementary School, will be the next principal of Meadowcreek Elementary School. Ms. Tedesco will transition to this new leadership role as Principal Laurie Gardner retires in December.


  Download a PDF of this article
GCPS Public (Main Tabs & Content) - Metrics Tracking Script
Complementary Content