Skip to main content
GCPS announces 2020 Career and Technical Education Student of the Year Awards

GCPS Honors Excellence in CTE

GCPS announces 2020 Career and Technical Education Student of the Year Awards

May 20, 2020

     Gwinnett County Public Schools (GCPS) is proud to recognize 25 students for their achievement in Career and Technical Education courses during their high school careers. These students were selected from a field of high-performing high school students within the school district. Although the 2020 Vision of Excellence Career and Technical Education Student of the Year Banquet will not be held this year because of COVID-19, these hard working and talented students deserve to be honored for their accomplishments. 

     District winners were selected from among local school Career and Technical Education Students of the Year for outstanding work in the classroom and leadership in technical education student organizations. The top three students will receive a Jody Reeves Career and Technical Education Scholarship. Scholarships are funded through the Gwinnett County Public Schools Foundation Fund, Inc., with contributions from Learning Labs, Inc., the Atlanta Electrical Contractors Association, and individual donations to the Jody Reeves Scholarship. Mrs. Reeves served as the district’s executive director for Academies and Career and Technical Education before her retirement. The 2020 GCPS district winners are:

GCPS CTE Student of the Year: 
Shreya Kuturu 
North Gwinnett High School
$1,500 Scholarship

1st runner-up: 
Mario Nieto 
Norcross High School
$1,000 Scholarship

2nd runner-up: 
Mya Swaby
Brookwood High School
$750 scholarship

     In addition to the county honorees, this annual recognition saluted the top Career and Technical Education students from each high school. Those students are:

Myles Collins
Archer HS

Kennedy Wright
Maxwell HS of Technology

Fernando Zarate-Zaragoza
Berkmar HS

Moumita Chowdhury
McClure Health Science HS

Mya Swaby
Brookwood HS

Leianis Servin
Meadowcreek HS

Kiana Collier
Central Gwinnett HS

Izabella Silverman
Mill Creek HS

Valina Beauvoir
Collins Hill HS

Laura Vickers
Mountain View HS

Estefani Vazquez
Dacula HS

Mario Nieto
Norcross HS

Saeeda Frimpong
Discovery HS

Shreya Kuturu
North Gwinnett HS

Valerie Nguyen
Duluth HS

Eva Greiner
Parkview HS

Mariah Lewis
Grayson HS

Richard Lee
Paul Duke STEM HS

Darryl Terrell
Grayson Technical
Education Program

Deborah Hwang
Peachtree Ridge HS

Kume Agidi
Gwinnett School of
Mathematics, Science and

Shamaya Powell
Phoenix HS

Connor Latschar
Lanier HS

Aditi Patel
Shiloh HS


Nathaniel Poteat
South Gwinnett HS

     The selection process requires nominated students to submit a transcript, a letter of recommendation from the nominating teacher, information on participation in a Career and Technical Student Organization, community service and an essay. The final requirement was an interview conducted by a panel of judges consisting of business and industry leaders, which included representation from the Gwinnett Employer Committee and the Gwinnett Chamber.

  Download a PDF of this article
GCPS Public (Main Tabs & Content) - Metrics Tracking Script
Complementary Content